Western New England Named First CCC Football Champion

Western New England Named First CCC Football Champion

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Western New England wrapped up the first year of the rebranded Commonwealth Coast Football (CCC Football) league undefeated in conference play to earn the first-ever CCC Football Championship. The Golden Bears were 5-0 in league play and 8-2 overall.

As the CCC Football Champion, WNE earns the league’s automatic qualifier into the NCAA Division III Football Championship. The tournament field will be announced Sunday (Nov. 12) evening at 5:30 p.m.

This is the third straight title for the Golden Bears as they were crowned champions in the final two seasons of the New England Football Conference (NEFC).

WNE outscored opponents 218-82 in league play and finished the regular-season on a seven-game winning streak.

The only two losses for the Golden Bears this year came against Springfield and Rensselear, both teams that were ranked in the last published Regional Rankings. WNE was also ranked at No. 10 in the East region.


Commonwealth Coast Football (CCC Football) is a single-sport football conference operating under the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) umbrella. The league has been in operation since 1965 (formerly as the New England Football Conference (NEFC)). The league currently consists of six members – Becker, Curry, Endicott, Nichols, Salve Regina, and Western New England. Membership will increase to seven in 2018 with the addition of the University of New England. Husson will join the conference in 2019.


Stay up to date will all the latest news from the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC)!
'Follow' us on
 Twitter and Instagram, and 'Like' us on Facebook!