Husson To Become Eighth Commonwealth Coast Football Member in 2019

Husson To Become Eighth Commonwealth Coast Football Member in 2019

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) Board of Directors is pleased to announce that Husson University has been granted associate membership in Commonwealth Coast Football (CCC Football) and is scheduled to begin play in 2019.

Husson becomes the eighth football member accepted into the conference, joining Curry, Endicott, Nichols, Salve Regina, the University of New England, Western New England, and fellow associate member Becker.

The CCC will assume operations of the New England Football Conference (NEFC) in 2017 and will rebrand the league as Commonwealth Coast Football. In the 2017 season, six teams – Becker, Curry, Endicott, Nichols, Salve Regina, and Western New England – will compete for the automatic qualifier with UNE scheduled to play its first varsity season in 2018. Husson will round out the membership in 2019.

“Commonwealth Coast Football is delighted to welcome Husson University as our newest member,” said CCC Commissioner Gregg M. Kaye. “Husson is one of the strongest football programs among Division III private institutions in New England, and their addition makes CCC Football stronger.  Since our September 2015 announcement that the New England Football Conference would be rebranded as Commonwealth Coast Football for the 2017 season, finding an eighth quality program has been a major priority for our membership.  I am delighted that Husson has accepted our invitation to join CCC Football.”

Husson will depart the Eastern Collegiate Football Conference (ECFC) of which it has been a part since 2009 as one of the league’s charter members. In that time, the Eagles have won two ECFC titles and made two NCAA Division III Football Championship appearances with the most recent coming this fall when the Eagles lost to Western New England in the First Round.

“We are excited to become a member of CCC Football,” said Husson Director of Athletics Frank Pergolizzi. “The opportunity to join an all New England conference, including a fellow Maine institution means a great deal to our program and our University. We look forward to beginning CCC Football competition in 2019.”

The five current CCC football-playing institutions have combined to make 11 NCAA Division III football postseason appearances. Curry tops all CCC football programs with six NCAA tournament appearances (2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008). Endicott has advanced to NCAA championship play twice (2010, 2013), while the winner of the final NEFC crown last fall, Western New England, has made three tournament showings (2011, 2015, 2016).

“We are appreciative of Commonwealth Coast Conference for accepting us into the conference for football,” said Husson Head Football Coach Gabby Price. “The CCC football league is an excellent conference with outstanding football teams and with great football traditions.”


The Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC), founded in 1984, is an NCAA Division III athletic conference comprised of ten full member and four associate member institutions throughout the New England region. Its membership aims to provide student-athletes with a positive experience in their pursuit of excellence through high academic standards, quality competition, and a meaningful student life. The conference will administer championships in 18 intercollegiate sports starting in the 2017-18 academic year.


For more than 100 years, Husson University has prepared future leaders to handle the challenges of tomorrow through innovative undergraduate and graduate degrees. With a commitment to delivering affordable classroom, online and experiential learning opportunities, Husson University has come to represent superior value in higher education. Our Bangor campus and off-campus satellite education centers in South Portland, Wells, and Presque Isle provide advanced knowledge in business; health and education; pharmacy studies, science and humanities; as well as communication. In addition, Husson University has a robust adult learning program.  Husson University offers twenty-two varsity sports programs and two spirit teams and is a member of the NCAA Division III and the North Atlantic Conference (NAC), Eastern Collegiate Football Conference (ECFC), The Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) (2019), North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC), Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC), Empire 8 and Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC). For more information about educational opportunities that can lead to personal and professional success, visit and for more information about Husson University Athletics, visit 


Stay up to date will all things latest news from the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC)!
'Follow' us on Twitter and Instagram, and 'Like' us on Facebook!