CCC Football Champion WNE Travels to No. 5/7 Delaware Valley for NCAA First Round

CCC Football Champion WNE Travels to No. 5/7 Delaware Valley for NCAA First Round


SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Western New England will travel to No. 5/7 Delaware Valley on Saturday, Nov. 18 to make its third consecutive NCAA Division III Football Championship appearance and its first as the Champion of the Commonwealth Coast Football (CCC Football) league. The full 32-team championship field was announced Sunday (Nov. 12) evening during the Selection Show. Game time is still to be announced.

Western New England finished the CCC Football season undefeated in conference play at 5-0, while also sporting an 8-2 overall record. Last season, the Golden Bears earned their first NCAA Tournament win as they defeated Husson at home.

Delaware Valley (10-0, 9-0 Middle Atlantic Conference) will be making its seventh appearance in the NCAA DIII Tournament and first since 2014 after capturing the MAC crown and the league's automatic bid. The Aggies are currently ranked No. 5 in the latest American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) DIII Poll, No. 7 in the Top 25, and No. 1 in the NCAA East Regional Rankings.

Twenty-five conferences received automatic-qualifying berths. Two berths are reserved for true independents or teams that are members of a conference that do not receive automatic qualification. The remaining five berths were awarded to teams from either automatic qualifying conferences that did not win an automatic berth, the remaining true independent teams or teams in non-automatic qualifying conferences.

The First Round of the championship will be played Nov. 18 at the host institution's campus or at an alternate site approved by the football committee. The Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl, the national championship game, will be played Friday, Dec. 15, at Salem Stadium in Salem, Va. The game will be broadcast live on ESPNU at 7 p.m. (EST).

Portions of this release are courtesy of the NCAA and the Western New England Sports Information Department.



NCAA First Round – Saturday, Nov. 18

Western New England at No. 5/7 Delaware Valley, TBD




Commonwealth Coast Football (CCC Football) is a single-sport football conference operating under the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) umbrella. The league has been in operation since 1965 (formerly as the New England Football Conference (NEFC)). The league currently consists of six members – Becker, Curry, Endicott, Nichols, Salve Regina, and Western New England. Membership will increase to seven in 2018 with the addition of the University of New England. Husson will join the conference in 2019.


Stay up to date will all the latest news from the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC)!
'Follow' us on
 Twitter and Instagram, and 'Like' us on Facebook!