League Tiebreakers Give WNE Fourth Consecutive Football Championship

League Tiebreakers Give WNE Fourth Consecutive Football Championship


SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Western New England earned its fourth straight football conference championship this year and its second Commonwealth Coast Football (CCC Football) title. The Golden Bears finished the regular season with a 5-1 CCC Football (8-2 overall) record.

As the CCC Football Champion, the Golden Bears earn the conference’s automatic qualifier into the NCAA Division III Football Championship. The field will be announced on Sunday, Nov. 11 at 5:30 p.m. during the NCAA.com Selection Show.

WNE was one of three teams tied with a 5-1 conference record as Salve Regina and Endicott also accomplished the feat. This scenario resulted in the league’s tiebreaking procedures being needed to determine the conference champion.

The first tiebreaker, head-to-head, offered no relief as each team earned a win against one opponent and lost to the other. Since each team’s only loss was to the other tied teams the second tiebreaker, comparing the results against other conference teams in rank order, did not yield a champion. Since there was no common non-conference opponent between the three teams, the tiebreaking procedure continued to the fourth step, overall record. WNE was named the league champion with an 8-2 overall record compared to the 7-3 records of both Salve and Endicott.



Commonwealth Coast Football (CCC Football) is a single-sport football conference operating under the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) umbrella. The league has been in operation since 1965 (formerly as the New England Football Conference (NEFC)). The league currently consists of seven members – Becker, Curry, Endicott, Nichols, Salve Regina, the University of New England, and Western New England. Husson will join the conference in 2019.


Stay up to date will all the latest news from the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC)!
'Follow' us on
 Twitter and Instagram, and 'Like' us on Facebook!