WNE’s Coleman Presented with NEFW Gold Helmet Award

WNE’s Coleman Presented with NEFW Gold Helmet Award

Release courtesy of the Western New England Sports Information Department.

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Junior quarterback Alec Coleman (Arlington, Mass.) of the Western New England University football team was presented with the New England Football Writers (NEFW) Division II/Division III Gold Helmet Award on Wednesday during the NEFW weekly luncheon at Dillon Fieldhouse on the campus of Harvard University.

Each week during the football season, the NEFW selects two Gold Helmet award winners – one from Division I, and one from Divison II/III. The awards honor the top performances in the region every week.

Coleman earns this prestigious honor after rushing for a career-high 284 yards and four touchdowns on 24 carries (11.8 avg.) in Western New England's 49-14 victory over Nichols College in Dudley, Mass. on Saturday. Coleman, who scored on runs of 69, 52, eight and six yards, also threw a 15-yard touchdown pass in the rainy and windy conditions at Vendetti Field.

A four-time Commonwealth Coast Football Offensive Player of the Week this season, Coleman leads the conference in both passing (15) and rushing (13) touchdowns, while his 1,296 passing yards and 652 rushing yards rank third and fourth, respectively.

The Arlington, Mass. native is Western New England's 11th Gold Helmet award recipient all-time, and first since Nick Connell '17 late in the 2016 campaign. Coleman joins Connell, Kevin Cook (2014), Alex Miller ('12), Mike Graham ('11), Bryce Brown ('10), Justin Walz ('07), Jordan Capitanio ('06), Jon Tallerico ('06), Mike Laroche ('04), and Marvin Langley, who is the only player to earn the award multiple times ('01, twice in '00).

Western New England (7-1, 4-0 CCC Football) will look to capture its fourth consecutive conference title on Saturday, as the Golden Bears travel to Beverly, Mass. to take on Endicott College (6-2, 4-0 CCC Football) with opening kickoff slated for noon at Hempstead Stadium.



Commonwealth Coast Football (CCC Football) is a single-sport football conference operating under the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) umbrella. The league has been in operation since 1965 (formerly as the New England Football Conference (NEFC)). The league currently consists of seven members – Becker, Curry, Endicott, Nichols, Salve Regina, the University of New England, and Western New England. Husson will join the conference in 2019.


Stay up to date will all the latest news from the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC)!
'Follow' us on
 Twitter and Instagram, and 'Like' us on Facebook!