Endicott Draws Bowdoin at Tufts Regional In NCAA DIII Women’s Volleyball Championship

Endicott Draws Bowdoin at Tufts Regional In NCAA DIII Women’s Volleyball Championship

Portions of this release courtesy of the NCAA.


INDIANAPOLIS – Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) Women’s Volleyball Tournament Champion Endicott will match up against Bowdoin in the First Round of the 2019 NCAA Division III Women’s Volleyball Championship. The match will take place on Friday, Nov. 15 at Tufts as part of an eight-team regional. Start times are still to be determined.

The entire 64-team field was announced on Monday afternoon during the NCAA.com Selection Show.

The Gulls (23-7, 8-0 CCC) were one of 43 teams to gain entry into this year’s tournament as their conference’s automatic qualifier. Endicott earned the AQ with a 3-0 sweep of Roger Williams in the CCC Championship on Saturday (Nov. 9).

Bowdoin (18-7, 8-2 NESCAC) was one of 20 “Pool C” at-large picks after the Polar Bears came up short in their quest for the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) AQ with a five-set loss to No. 14 Tufts in the NESCAC Championship.

The Jumbos (27-1, 10-0 NESCAC), which won the NESCAC AQ, will play Eastern Nazarene (17-6, 7-0 NECC), the New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) automatic qualifier, in another First Round matchup. It will be ENC’s first-ever NCAA Tournament appearance.

The four other teams that will be playing at Tufts this weekend are Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC) Champion No. 21 Johnson and Wales (27-4, 12-0 GNAC), North Atlantic Conference (NAC) automatic qualifier Maine Maritime (24-3, 6-0 NAC), New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) winner No. 18 Babson (31-1, 9-1 NEWMAC), and Little East Conference AQ recipient UMass Boston (12-18, 5-3 LEC). The Wildcats and Mariners will meet and one match with the Beavers and Beacons facing off in the other.

Regional play will take place at Tufts and seven other regional sites over a three-day period with the eight regional winners advancing to the NCAA Championship which will be held Nov. 21-23 at the U.S. Cellular Center in Cedar Rapids, Iowa and hosted by the American Rivers Conference.


2019 NCAA Division III Women's Volleyball Championship

First Round – Friday, Nov. 15
(Hosted by Tufts – Medford, Mass.)

Bowdoin vs. Endicott, TBD
No. 21 Johnson and Wales (R.I.) vs. Maine Maritime, TBD
No. 18 Babson vs. UMass Boston, TBD
Eastern Nazarene at No. 14 Tufts, TBD





The Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC), founded in 1984, is an NCAA Division III athletic conference comprised of nine full member and two associate member institutions throughout the New England region. Its membership aims to provide student-athletes with a positive experience in their pursuit of excellence through high academic standards, quality competition, and a meaningful student life. The conference administers championships in 18 intercollegiate sports. In 2020, the conference will expand to 10 full members and 19 championship sports with the addition of Suffolk University and women’s ice hockey, respectively.


Stay up to date with all the latest news from the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC)!
'Follow' us on
 Twitter and Instagram, and 'Like' us on Facebook!